The annual Chicago Tamil Forum brings together 7-8 scholars to present on ongoing scholarly works in progress. The meetings involve a public keynote or filmscreening, and then two days of workshopping precirculated papers. Each paper has a devoted discussant (another participant in the workshop) who kicks off a ninety minute discussion period.

Past participants include: E. Annamalai, Indira Arumugam, Bernard Bate, Francis Cody, Sara Dickey, Swarnavel Eswaran, Mythri Jegathesan, Rajan Kurai Krishnan, Constantine V. Nakassis, V. Rajesh, Sumathi Ramaswamy, Martha Selby, Susan Seizer, David Shulman, Michael Silverstein, S. V. Srinivas, Perundevi Srinivasan, Rupa Visvanath, Amanda Weidman